Why Mastercard’s $25 billion crypto expansion isn’t what it seems
SoFi Bank and Mastercard have announced SoFiUSD settlement is live for the bank's debit and credit card program, moving their March plan into production.
The rollout puts a token-based settlement route behind familiar card payments and, according to SoFi, gives participating merchants a way to receive dollars in a bank account without holding the token. SoFi expects more than $25 billion in annualized card-program volume after migration; it has not disclosed how much has actually settled in SoFiUSD.
The migration remains underway. Cardholders can keep using existing cards, while SoFi describes a bank-account cash route for merchants and separate redemption rules for token holders. Those groups encounter different parts of the arrangement, so a live blockchain transaction alone says little about the scale of merchant benefit or token-holder access.
From a planned rail to live settlement
The March partnership announcement described SoFiUSD settlement as a future option. The companies' September release says transactions are now occurring on a blockchain for SoFi Bank's card program. The full-program migration is still in progress, and SoFi has not given a completion date.
SoFi expects the program to process more than $25 billion annually using SoFiUSD after that migration. The figure is a projection of card activity at an eventual run rate. SoFi has not disclosed the amount or share of transactions already settled in the token. That missing denominator prevents readers from treating the projected program size as the stablecoin's observed throughput.
The token operates behind cards people already carry. SoFi says merchants need no stablecoin holdings or new infrastructure to use its proposed route, and the companies describe no requirement for consumers to acquire crypto at checkout. The visible card payment and the settlement path can therefore change on different schedules.
For merchants, the useful measure is when settlement becomes spendable cash. The September release offers no measured before-and-after comparison of that timing or of cost for this program. A working transaction establishes operating status; merchant-level results would establish the economic effect.
SoFi says businesses using its Big Business Banking platform can receive settlement funds immediately in a SoFi Bank account and access cash around the clock without holding SoFiUSD. That is the bank's product claim. The September release names no live outside merchant settlement customer and says discussions with large US merchants continue. Its April platform announcement described business deposit accounts, continuous fiat and token transfers, and mint-and-burn conversion as capabilities the platform would include.
In the arrangement SoFi describes, the merchant's usable balance is held in a bank account while the stablecoin moves value through settlement. That division could spare a business from managing a token wallet. Actual outside-merchant use and measured cash-availability gains would show how far the capability extends beyond SoFi's own card program.
Diagram of SoFiUSD card settlement: March plan became live September 22, more than $25 billion annualized card volume is projected after migration, and actual token-settled volume is undisclosed.
Account dollars and token rights
A merchant paid into a bank account and a party receiving SOFID on-chain hold different claims. The issuer's redemption and risk terms govern the token holder; the card transaction itself does not make the shopper or merchant a direct redemption customer.
SoFi Bank, a nationally chartered bank regulated by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, issues SoFiUSD and describes it as intended for one-for-one dollar redemption. Under SOFID's terms, direct redemption is available only to approved SoFi customers with separate agreements, subject to conditions and fees. Receiving the token on-chain does not transfer that issuer claim. The terms also allow delays or suspensions under specified conditions.
Bank deposits and tokens carry different protections. SoFi's product disclosure says SoFiUSD itself is not a deposit, lacks FDIC and SIPC insurance and may be subject to delay, disruption or permanent loss. A bank-account payout may be useful precisely because the merchant can receive dollars without taking those token-holder risks.
The reserve terms add another distinction. SoFi's September release describes the token's reserves as primarily cash. The issuer's terms also permit cash equivalents and other legally allowed liquid instruments, with no fixed composition promised at every point. The release describes the backing policy but provides no point-in-time reserve breakdown.
The terms also exclude people and entities located in, resident in or subject to UK or European Economic Area laws from acquiring, holding, transferring or using SOFID. Token eligibility and ordinary card acceptance follow different rules. That restriction concerns token participation; it does not establish a ban on card purchases in those markets.
The scale the networks can actually show
Mastercard outlined a broader settlement menu in June: regulated stablecoins alongside additional fiat timing options. It said USDC had supported early on-chain settlement in select markets and named Paxos-issued coins, RLUSD and SoFiUSD for planned support across multiple networks. SoFi's launch puts one bank-issued coin into use within that wider strategy. Mastercard has not disclosed the eventual traffic share of each token or said every planned pairing is live.
Visa offers a separate measure of scale. It reported on Sept. 8 that stablecoin settlement volume had recently exceeded a $20 billion annualized run rate. That reported run rate tracks stablecoin settlement activity. SoFi's projected figure covers future annualized card-program volume after migration, so the two figures cannot rank the networks' current stablecoin settlement volumes.
SoFi and Mastercard have moved a named bank-issued stablecoin from a proposed card-settlement option to a live one. The next evidence that would establish its wider consequence is actual token-settled volume, outside-merchant adoption and measured access to spendable cash. Until those results are disclosed, the working route is clearer than its commercial scale.
This content is provided for general informational purposes only and doesn't constitute financial, investment, legal, or tax advice. Any events, rewards, online promotions, or related information mentioned herein should not be considered a recommendation, solicitation, or invitation to purchase, sell, trade, or otherwise deal in any crypto assets. Crypto assets are highly volatile and may result in loss. The availability of WEEX services, products, and related events may vary by region. You are responsible for ensuring that your participation is in accordance with applicable local laws and regulations.
You may also like

Why Did DOGE Jump 15%? Dogecoin Price Rally Explained

Can Kraken's Parent Company Open the Door for Hyperliquid to Enter the U.S. Market?

FinTra Holding Launches the Universal Payment Network (UPN) Consortium

North Korea's Fake Job Interviews Drained $11M From 7,000 Crypto Wallets

Gold Price Today in Thailand: XAU/USD Holds Near $4,347 as Key Support Level Tested

UN Digital Cooperation Day Features Blockchain Session, Focus on Financial Inclusion and Sovereign Infrastructure

Scam AI Bot: 274 ETH Lost in Smart Contract Trap

Why Do You Always Make Small Profits and Then Lose Everything? Taleb Explained It with 'Asymmetric Leverage' Twenty Years Ago

AI has become a tool for a new generation of fraudsters: how deepfakes are stealing millions of dollars - research

Europe’s central banks want to scrap this stablecoin reserve safeguard

Can SOXL Reach $160 as AI and Semiconductor Stocks Rally?

Can PEPE Reach $0.000006 as Meme Coin Momentum Returns?

CryptoQuant Predicts More Moderate Gains for This Bitcoin Cycle

Coinbase traced $1.1 million crypto trail behind AI phishing service EvilTokens

Meta's Muse: A Slightly Smarter Version of 'AI Ordering Coffee'

Over 70% of South Korean Crypto Investors Oppose Crypto Tax: What Are Their Concerns?

Ripple’s Schwartz compares Glock case to SEC fight

Uber Stock: A $40 Million Wrongful Death Ruling Just Challenged Its Business Model
A $40 million arbitration award just rejected Uber's core legal defense that it's merely a technology platform, finding it operates as a common carrier instead.

Hack Coldcard: 52 BTC Saved by Ethical Hackers

Howard Marks: U.S. Fiscal Discipline Out of Control, Buying Bonds to Suppress Yields is Just 'Putting Ice Packs on a Feverish Patient'

BlackRock Redefines Crypto Money for Machines with Bitcoin and Stablecoins

Dubai Authority VARA Enforces Compliance for VASP (Crypto Exchanges)

Bitget Conversations with Trader Shiguang: Seeking the Discrepancy Between Price and Value

IonQ Stock Jumped 12% After Hours: The Company Just Cracked One of Quantum Computing's Hardest Problems
IonQ jumped 12% after hours on a real quantum computing breakthrough, a decoder that fixes errors in real time using nothing more than a standard CPU.

X Sues Two for Fraudulent Acquisition of Creator Rewards, Seeks Return of $278,000

AI and Crypto: Why BlackRock Sees a Major Convergence

Nomura Warns of 'Double Whammy' Risk: The Next Market Storm May Start with Interest Rate Volatility

What is Travix? An on-chain omnibroker combining AI trading and blockchain verification

GME Stock's CEO Just Bought Another $26 Million in Shares: His Stake Just Crossed 40 Million
GameStop's CEO just spent $26.4 million buying more shares, pushing his stake past 40 million. Here's why the timing, and his own compensation structure, make this purchase worth more than a passing headline.
